RMU Hockey Fans Submit Men’s and Women’s All-Time Teams


Zac Lynch and Brady Ferguson celebrate a goal in 2013. Photo credit: RMU Athletics

Alec Miller

With the announcement that men’s and women’s hockey will be returning for the 2023-24 season, fans recently had the opportunity to vote on who they think should be part of the RMU all-time teams.

The voting consisted of over 1,000 ballots for the men’s and the women’s teams. Each list contained ten forwards, five defensemen and two goalies.

The Robert Morris men’s team will start with forwards headlined by Brady Ferguson (2014-2018) Zac Lynch (2012-16), Alex Tonge (2015-19), and Cody Wydo (2011-15).

On the defensive end, the Colonials will have Chase Golightly (2012-16), Eric Israel (2015-19), Rob Mann (2013-17), Denny Urban (2007-11), and Tyson Wilson (2011-16).

Fans voted for Eric Levine (2009-13), and Terry Shafer (2012-16) to man the crease for RMU.

Some of the men’s team standouts consist of the recent Atlantic Hockey Hall of Honor inductees Zac Lynch and Cody Wydo.

Also on the list is Brady Ferguson, the men’s all-time leader in points with 167 and the all-time leader in assists with 101.

The defensive standouts are Chase Golightly, who is second in RMU history with a plus-minus rating of +55.

Denny Urban, third-team All-American honors and AHA Defenseman of the Year in 2011 and CHA All-Rookie team in 2008, was also named to the team.

Both goalies on the men’s list are standouts, with Eric Levine, RMU’s all-time leader in save percentage, at .925. Levine also ranks fifth in total wins with 30.

Terry Shafer is also a standout. Shafer ranks second all-time in wins with 43, third in save percentage at .920 and goals against average at 2.67.

The women’s team also consists of 17 players. Forwards on the team are highlighted by. Michaela Boyle (2019-21), Brittany Howard (2013-17), Lexi Templeman (2017-21).

Michaela Boyle is featured as a forward on the Women’s All-Time Team (Photo by Tyler Gallo)

On defense for the women’s team is Emily Curlett (2017-21), Jacki Gibson (2006-10), Maggie LaGue (2013-17), Mikaela Lowater (2013-17), and Kirsten Welsh (2015-19).

Notables for the women’s starter are the Delaney sisters Brianna and Cobina. Brianna is third all-time in goals with 53 and sixth all-time in points with 121. She was also selected to the CHA All-Rookie team in 2009. Cobina is in the top 15 all-time in assists with 42 and total points with 66.

Rebecca Vint is a three-time All-CHA first-team selection and CHA Rookie of the Year in 2012. Also, in 2012, she was part of the All-USCHO rookie team.

Jacki Gibson is tied for 10th all-time in total games played with 138. During her time as a Colonial, she gathered 43 points and 33 assists.

Mikaela Lowater was an All-CHA first-team selection in 2016. In 2015 she was named to the ll-CHA second team. Lowater is tied for second in games played at RMU with 141 and sits seventh all-time with a plus-minus rating of +33.

Wrapping up the list for the women’s team is goalie Brianne McLaughlin who was the first-ever RMU Colonial to compete in the Olympic Games. She has also earned CHA post-season honors four times. McLaughlin is also a two-time All-CHA first-team selection. In 2006 McLaughlin was an All-CHA rookie team. Brianne also leads the whole NCAA DI in career saves with 3,782.

All the players on these lists have had remarkable careers and deserve to be on this list.

This list comes out as the second annual Celebrity Hockey Faceoff comes up. The faceoff will occur on Sunday, Jan. 15, where some players will be playing.