2012 Homecoming court voting today

Katrina Buchanan, News Editor

It is that time of year again- voting season. Although the presidential election is quickly approaching, students at Robert Morris University are faced with another important decision today (Sept. 20, 21012). By 11:59 p.m., everybody must choose their top five candidates for homecoming court.

Unlike in previous years, the voting is taking place online.

Maureen Keefer, Assistant Dean of Students, says, “After researching how other schools do their voting, we decided that moving to an online first round would encourage more students to vote.”

Students must go to  http://rmu.vovici.net/wsb.dll/s/1g27c to choose five males and five females. The five candidates with the most votes in both of the categories will then become part of the homecoming court.

This year’s homecoming court hopefuls include:

Alan Buehler (Alpha Chi Rho), Brian Burns (Kappa Kappa Psi), Kelly Claar (College Democrats, Christopher Dobos (Phi Sigma Kappa), Rick Goughneour (College Repulbicans), Brady Karolak (Phi Delta Theta), Brendan Morales (Hispanic Student Association), Jarrod Prugar (Club Managers Association of America), Adam Smoley (Interfraternity Council), Chance Wideman (Phi Beta Sigma).

Ashley Allem (Kappa Delta Pi), Amy Burak (Robert Morris Educators Advocating Literacy), Chenee Cleveland (Black Student Union), Gretchen Gailey (Delta Phi Epsilon), Alycia Jones (Zeta Tau Alpha), Shelby Landus (Delta Zeta), Ellen Lichius (Alpha Psi Omega), Kiersten Metzger (Student Program Board), Casey Poindexter (Alpha Phi Omega), Sarah Robb (Society of Women Engineers) and Sharon Swatko (Psychology Club).

Voting for homecoming king and queen will take place in Nicholson Center on Sept. 26-27 between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m., and then again between 4 p.m. and 6 p.m.

Keefer says, “The king and queen will be announced during the game at the halftime ceremony.”