Robert Morris v Wagner Football Preview

Justin Criado, Staff Writer

It has been a disappointing season thus far for the Colonial football team as they enter Saturday’s game against Wagner with a 2-7 record. Despite the losses, Saturday will be the last game for 15 RMU seniors including tight end Shadrae King, wide receiver/return man Anthony Coleman and offensive linemen Brad Rodgers and Logan Miles.

Wagner will look to spoil their swan song as they bring an identical record to Joe Walton Stadium, and are coming off a 27-21 victory over Sacred Heart. Junior quarterback Nick Doscher leads a Seahawks’ offense that has struggled through much of the year. Last week against Sacred Heart, Doscher went 7-for-14 for 57 yards and threw two interceptions.

He’ll be facing a Colonial defense that is decimated by injuries. All-NEC defensive lineman Nolan Nearhoof suffered a season-ending ACL injury in last week’s 31-24 loss at Central Connecticut State. Also, out this week is nose tackle Sam Miller who reinjured his ankle and linemate Chris Setticase, who is day-to-day with an undisclosed injury.

The starting defensive line this week will feature Steve Mitchell at nose tackle instead of his normal defensive end position, as Chris Tompkins and Corey Nolton will play end. On offense, quarterback Jeff Sinclair is out for the season with a torn MCL and freshman Matt Layman will make his first career start. Layman went 12-for-16 for 163 yards and two touchdowns last week in relief of Sinclair, and looked comfortable in the pocket.

Layman will have to watch for cornerback Torian Phillips who was named the NEC Defensive Player of the Week based off his eight tackles and one interception performance against the Pioneers. Phillips’ interception in the second quarter denied a touchdown, which opened the door for a Wagner comeback in the second half.

Kickoff is set for noon and the Senior Day ceremony will be held before the coin toss. Other Colonials playing in their last home game for RMU are lineman Brian Bevilacqua, cornerback Alex Tarr, tight end Paul Evans, defensive lineman Farren Mason, running back Jamar Cromwell, fullback John Melnick, receivers Jamie Cobb and Rickeem Jackson, and linebackers Anthony Caperelli, Jon Krepps and Sanchez Fague.