RMU recipient of Gov. Wolf’s ‘It’s On Us’ campaign to combat sexual assault

Robert Morris University to receive part of state grant to combat campus sexual assault.


Matt Merlino

Sexual assault on campus

Jonathan Hanna, Contributor

HARRISBURG – Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf announced nearly $1 million would be used to help fight sexual assault at 38 college and university campuses including, for the first time, Robert Morris University.

Governor Wolf established the ‘It’s On Us PA’ campaign three years ago and has put nearly $3 million dollars into ‘It’s On Us’ grants.

“We must never tolerate sexual assault on our campuses or a culture that allows it,” Governor Wolf said. “Over the past three years, my administration has worked with students, schools and communities to build programs to stop sexual assaults. These grants will help schools across the state to make campuses safer, and help stop sexual harassment and assault.”

Michael Blichar Jr, a student at Kutztown University and the northeast regional advisor for ‘It’s On Us,’ said that “I believe that ‘It’s On Us’ has given students throughout Pennsylvania and the northeast the tools and skills necessary to advocate for survivors and effect change surrounding the culture of campus sexual violence.”

Colleges and universities can use the grants in order to help create programs to educate about sexual assault and to help victims of sexual assault to recover.

“The ‘It’s On Us PA’ grants help our schools provide critical training and resources to students and employees so they can study and work in safer environments,” said Education Secretary Pedro A. Rivera.

The grant recipients include public and private, two-year and four-year institutions all over Pennsylvania. Robert Morris is one of 38 schools to receive the grant and is one of 18 schools to receive it for the first time.

The 38 schools scheduled to receive the grant are:

  • Cabrini University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Chatham University
  • Chestnut Hill College
  • Cheyney University of Pa.
  • Delaware County Community College
  • Dickinson College
  • East Stroudsburg University of Pa.
  • Elizabethtown College
  • Holy Family University
  • Immaculata University
  • Indiana University of PA
  • Jefferson University
  • Juniata College
  • Kutztown University of Pa.
  • Lackawanna College
  • Lafayette College
  • LaSalle University
  • Lycoming College
  • Manor College
  • Mansfield University of PA
  • Marywood University
  • Mercyhurst University
  • Millersville University of PA
  • Peirce College
  • Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts
  • Robert Morris University
  • Saint Vincent College
  • Seton Hill University
  • Shippensburg University
  • Slippery Rock University
  • Susquehanna University
  • University of Pittsburgh at Bradford
  • University of Scranton
  • West Chester University of Pa,
  • Widener University
  • Wilkes University
  • York College